10,000 Page Views! Most Views in One Day!

Don’t ask me how it happened, but the website suddenly hit two milestones at once! I was waiting for the site to reach 10,000 views, and it was by chance that the Negima finale post came out when it did. Actually, that post didn’t have as many hits as I might have thought, so the large traffic that day was still mildly confusing. Not that I’m complaining, since it’s always good to see people viewing my old work.

Of course as many of you can see, my website doesn’t get as many hits as most other anime blogs do. I knew about the traffic other people get for a while, with many getting 300-400 hits every day, while the really popular ones get 3000-4000 a day. There are a lot of reasons for this, like subject matter, the resources of the website (wallpapers, etc), or just having a consistent schedule. Plus I’ve always been nervous when it comes to asking for blogroll exchanges. But I know the big reason for my relatively low traffic, and that’s simply because I focus on manga instead of anime.

Websites like AnimeNano have a much larger amount of people dealing with anime than manga. While this does mean that a website like mine is more unique, it also means there will be much fewer people who actually go to that site looking for manga. I’ve tried to find other places where a manga blogger would be better noticed, but there really aren’t many places I know of for that.

Now I don’t mean any of this as a plea for sympathy or anything. If I really cared that much about getting hits, I would have done posts on anime from the start. The whole reason I started a manga focused blog, if I haven’t said it, is specifically because there isn’t very many bloggers or reviewers out there that focus on it. The fact that I can get even this many people reading my work shows that it’s all been worth it.

By the way, here’s an interesting trivia fact. The previous record for most hits in one day was set in November. All because I decided to insult a popular franchise. Keep that in mind if you ever want more hits.

Posted on March 19, 2012, in Site Updates and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 35 Comments.

  1. Congrats, buddy. This is a big milestone, and I’m happy for you.

    And yeah. That Madoka article is how I found you.

    Incidentally, our next five point podcast: 5 reasons why Oran Host Club can suck it.

    We should get roughly infinity+1 views.

  2. Congrats man. I’ll do a blogroll exchange with you. 😛 oh wait I already did.

    Annoying people can be a good way to get more page views but It’s better when you talk about something in a positive light and still get the views.

    • I usually try to avoid that kind of thing too. The one time I didn’t was when I was really stressed and needed to stop bottling things up. Even then I wasn’t deliberately trying to annoy people.

      Thanks. I should really ask for a few blogroll exchanges, now that I think about it.

  3. Congrats :3!

    This time, I didn’t manage to overload your daily view count XD

  4. Congratulation! 🙂

  5. Congratulations man, that’s awesome! Don’t belittle this achievement- 264 views in a day is about double the most views in a day I’ve got! Keep up the good work!

  6. OMG dude thats awesome! We love your Manga posts man! you deserve this! ^_^

  7. Congratulations!

    By the way, I think hits are important – not to conflate egos, but to keep us motivated and to help us produce better quality content in knowing that people are actually reading it.

    If you want to engage the manga reading community, I highly suggest you participate in MMF. It will definitely bring you some readers you might not otherwise normally get. This month’s topic is Jiro Taniguchi: http://comicsworthreading.com/2012/03/18/jiro-taniguchi-manga-moveable-feast-begins/

  8. Congrats!! Also, about that last little bit of trivia, it’s quite interesting. Disagreeable opinions tend to attract more stats, but another thing to consider is that it’s also less likely to grow regulars (unless of course, everything is always disagreeable, in which case, it becomes quite hipster I suppose). Anyway I digress.

    Congratulations again on the major milestone!

    • It’s okay to have a disagreeable opinion once in a while, but doing it that often isn’t really advisable unless that’s the whole point of your site. And thanks a lot.

  9. Damnit! I insult highly loved manga on a weekly basis, and last week i only got 30 views on WMU. What the hell are you doing right?

    But seriously, thats awesome. Yeah i can’t bring myself to ask for blogroll’s either, but i still have the excuse of being new at this, so haha.

    that wasn’t very serious at all, was it rofl.

    • It’s all in the series, I guess.

      It can be a little awkward, I know. I’m only just getting the hang of that stuff, since it feels a lot like asking for phone numbers.

  10. My obligatory congratulation which you well deserve. Very limited people do manga blogs, so you can also be proud of filling niche no else has done before or kept it a float at least. Also seen that you added me, but I have not you. Guess I will clear that shame by adding you this week once time allows (by all means please do remind me if you see I have not done it by Friday. I have to stay on top of my school work most of the time and stuff pretty much happens XD)

  11. I think hits are really wonderful, unless you wanted to be hit by a certain person, jk. I’m just teasing and that’s for calling me talkative.

    Anyway congratulations, I actually meant to say this on twitter when I read your tweet but it seems like this is the best spot to say this.

  12. Congratulations, Yerocha. You’re doing a great job focusing on manga discussion. I’ve discovered a few manga through this blog. =)

  13. Congrats! Hits are a great way to boost your ego and keep you motivated. ^_^

  14. Congratz. You are doing great and i’m sure more will come when they know that awesome video review you usually do. 😀

    • Thanks, I’ve been showing those videos on another site as well, though aside from the site address in the video, it still feels awkward to tell people to visit my site. Heh, maybe I’m just awkward in general.

  15. Congrats! And views and statistics aren’t everything anyway. Although yours didn’t reach 3000~4000 views per day (not like I can accomplish it myself anyway), I really like your blog for actually not choosing anime to blog 😀 I rarely see any manga blogs around and it’s good that yours is so active. Keep up the good work^^

    • Well thanks. I’ve heard that it usually isn’t important how many people come, but how many stay, and I know that lots of people have been good enough to stick around. We should all take some pride in having that.

  16. Congratulations, maybe a bit late now though!

Leave a comment