D.Gray-man – Chapter 207

DGrayman207

I know this isn't what I should be thinking right now...but did Miranda's breasts get larger?

I know the post for this chapter is about a week late, but I’ve always had difficulty discussing this series. See, it’s much harder staying attached to a monthly series than a weekly one. Rather than waiting patiently for the new chapters, I often find myself forgetting that I read the series until the new chapter comes out. However, with manga like Claymore or Soul Eater, it’s easy enough to get back into the story when it does get released, but not with D.Gray-man. I think the biggest reason for my difficulty is that over time, this series has started to feel rather aimless.

I mentioned this during my Soul Eater post, but there are some series where I can never tell the direction they’re headed and consider it a negative thing. I was referring, mainly, to D.Gray-man. The recent chapters (and I use the word “recent” loosely) feel like the creator has forgotten where she wanted the series to go in the first place. There doesn’t seem like any effort is being made towards some sort of ending, even in the short term. Worst of all, it really feels like most of the cast has been deprived of their screentime, with far too long being spent on Kanda’s history. Reading this recent chapter, I got the feeling that the other characters might get to do something soon, but I’m not getting my hopes up.

Of course just as it looks like the other characters will get some focus in this chapter, Kanda returns from wherever the hell Allen sent him. The chapter ends with him coming back to the order after several months, with the implication being that the start of the next chapter will be him explaining what he’s been doing during his absence. There’s a good chance that what he says will lead to the next story arc, but honestly, I was so confused during his departure that I can’t say what kind of story he’ll have, or how it may involve Allen’s current whereabouts.

So in the end, while I was happy to see the other characters doing anything, this chapter still hasn’t helped my anxiety that the story isn’t going anywhere. I’d like to know what the characters are going to do about Allen, and maybe Johnny leaving the order will help get that moving, but I’m not sure what he’ll be able to do on his own. It’s a very confusing time in the series right now, and I don’t feel myself caring enough to get reinvested in it. Hopefully it’ll pick up soon, but again, “soon” in D.Gray-man is still a long way away.

Posted on September 11, 2011, in Chapter Discussions, D.Gray-man, Series and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. it’s much harder staying attached to a monthly series than a weekly one. Rather than waiting patiently for the new chapters, I often find myself forgetting that I read the series until the new chapter comes out.

    For my case, I tend to forget that the new chapter is out until weeks later and sometimes months. So I’m usually not up-to-date with the shojo manga that I read. Occasionally, I lost interest after a while.

    • Using RSS makes it a lot easier for me, although that sometimes still happens. I’ve been trying and failing to stay caught up on Hiromu Arakawa’s new series since it started.

Leave a Reply

