Fairy Tail – Chapter 253

FairyTail253

THIS is how you lead into a time skip!

Um…okay…not sure where to start. I guess I’ll should start with the previous chapter, which I considered writing an entry about, but then wisely decided to wait for this week. I’d been expecting the guild leader, Makarov, to die by the end of this storyline, and I suspect most readers have as well. When he stayed behind to hold off Acnologia, I was sure that this would finally be his time, as he sacrifices himself so the guild may continue on. But since it hadn’t happened yet, I waited for this chapter to say anything. With this chapter…I don’t know anymore. Maybe the reaper held back because he was just as confused as we are.

I’ve been reading Fairy Tail for almost two years now, and this is the first time a chapter has left me short of words. The guild tried to shield themselves from that ridiculously large attack, and as the pages after showed the blank sea, I kept expecting them to swim up at the last minute. It feels like something the series would do, at any rate. Instead, the characters disappear, and we end on a seven year timeskip. And I still don’t know what the hell happened there. I thought for sure there would be changes soon, but not this radically! I’ve never seen a story do a timeskip with this little foreshadowing, and that’s including the third season finale of Lost.

I understand that not everyone may like this development, and I think it could have been handled a lot better, but honestly, this is one of the few times I’ve really been interested in the story. Not that it’s been stagnating or anything, but I haven’t really been enjoying it on the same level as, say, One Piece or Soul Eater. After this chapter, it’s like I’ve been awakened from some half-asleep effort. I can’t say what the series will be like in the chapters to come, and there’s a good chance this will turn out badly in the long run, but I’d at least like to see it for myself. If the series is planning something big like this, I may as well stay for the sales pitch.

Seriously, though, was the hand-holding scene really necessary? I mean really? Even Negima couldn’t pull that off.

Posted on October 4, 2011, in Chapter Discussions, Fairy Tail, Series and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I honestly thought Makarov would die, and now the whole story turned out like this I don’t even know what to think. I was dumbfounded by the 7 years time skip. Totally didn’t expect that. I guess I will wait and see what happens next to decide whether I like this development.

  2. I get this “friendship theme” Mashima’s trying to implement for these past few chapters lately ; i’m also fine with all the nakama speech bullcrap but i think he just overdid it there and I face-palmed during the hand-holding scene. Anyway, it’s obvious that they’ll survive, since the guardian prayed for them and all. But the only question is how? Mashima needs a good explanation to pull this off!

    • I read a theory that Ultear sent them forward in time somehow. I don’t entirely believe it myself, but it’s the closest think I have to a working theory.

      Yeah, I thought this chapter was overdone, but I’m still giving Mashima the chance to explain himself. You know he has to be going somewhere with this.

Leave a comment