Status Update / Aniblog Tourney

Ika Musume 172

Don't follow Eiko's example: put schoolwork first!

Well, it’s that time of year again. In a few weeks I’ll have to write my finals. It’s been a rather annoying semester, and I really need to put some work into some of the remaining assignments I have before then. Lab writeups suck.

What does this mean for the website? It’s hard to say, since I’ve grown into a habit of doing schoolwork during the day and working on posts at night. Aside from the actual week of finals, it’s entirely possible the amount of posts might go relatively unchanged. I’m not sure if that says more about my overall productivity or my regular update schedule.

Just know that I won’t have any major posts ready aside from two that I already have partially finished. The first is “Transitioning from Anime to Manga”, and that should be ready in a day or two. The other is my video review of Psyren, which I finished writing yesterday and should record soon. Of course those are meant to be done soon, which is why I made exceptions for them and not other long posts. After that, my hands should be mostly tied until the day of my last exam, which is April 27th.

…which, in an interesting coincidence, is the same day as my match for the Aniblog Tourney!

I’ve been looking forward to this for a little while, even after hearing about some of the drama that surrounded the last one. It’s going to be fun to root for my favourite websites and see how everyone performs. I also hear most participants get a lot of exposure, so there’s that too! I’m a little worried about how I’ll perform, though. A part of me was hoping my first round opponent would be some new blogger who looks like everyone else, but instead I got matched up with a good website, Anime Evo. And if I manage to beat them, I go against Shinmaru in round 2!

As nervous as I’m getting, this does feel like how most shonen tournament arcs begin. Starting against 3 opponents at once during a time of turmoil before facing a popular fighter in the second round. If the tourney gets interrupted by a ninja attack during the semifinals, I won’t be all that shocked anymore. It’s too bad for the way the times came together, or I might be able to prepare something more. School does come first, of course, so if this website suddenly goes much quieter, know that I would much rather be here.

Posted on April 9, 2012, in Site Updates and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Let me know when the voting starts; I got your back.

    • My round starts on the 27th, but the voting as a whole starts on the 15th. You should check it out, since there’s a lot of great blogs out there.

  2. ninja attack? what could you possibly be suggesting? *hides knife*

  3. I feel i should at least watch Squid Girl, cause it seems like i could get so many jokes for reviews out of it.

    I could totally see this being a large shonen tournament arc.

    Yerocha: “Ultimate Attack: Situation Appropriate Squid Girl Picture”
    Anime Evo “Its so Appropriate!
    *BOOM*
    Shinmaru “Ha, you ultimate attack will never be strong enough to defeat me”
    Yerocha “You’re Right, at least until i got Super Gear Bankai!”
    Shinmaru “Holy Fuck!”
    *BOOM*

  4. We’ll see how the tourney fares up, in the end its just a way to know more blogs.🙂

    • That’s what I’ve heard. I even noticed my first round opponents don’t have a lot of comments, so I hope it will help them too. Even if I still want to beat them.

  5. Good luck on your exams and hope you ace them. As for the tourney, I wish you all the best. I believe your blog is good so I have faith that you’ll do well on your first match-up

  6. We’re unlikely to meet even though we are in the same quarter of the draw. Best of luck in little over 2 weeks.

  7. You have my back too😀 Your blog is one of the best manga blogs out of all the ones I had checked out ;p You have my vote for sure~

  8. I’d definitely vote for you. No worries and good luck on your exam🙂

Leave a Reply

